Stardust Always Authors (Andrew)

image

Hello Andrew. Thank you for taking the time to answer some questions about Stardust Always. Tell us what Stardust Always is to you. Why did you write something for it?

I wrote a poem about this – it’s an acrostic. It’s a little bittersweet because I wish I could do more to help.

Such a sad beginning to the scene:
Two great titans lost to cancer’s grasp.
Alan Rickman, star of stage and screen,
Rudely taken ere his act was passed;
David Bowie (just some days before)
Up above, an oddity in space,
Stardust on them both, and always, for
They gave outsider aliens a face.
All this writer knows to do is write;
Little could I do for cancer’s curse.
Writing seems a way to fight that fight,
As all that I seem fit to do is verse,
Yammering in sonnets of regret –
‘Stardust, Always’ helps me to forget.

Tell us about your story.  What message do you hope to convey to your readers?

My story is called ‘The Man Who Fell Back To Earth’ and is the further adventures of Enoch, father of Methuselah, who apparently became the angel Metatron (Alan Rickman’s character in Dogma). He falls naked from the sky during a thunderstorm, and the story is about his attempts to understand the world, and his mission on Earth. He’s been away for quite a while.

image

How did Rickman and/or Bowie influence your life?

I’m also a musician, and Bowie songs are some of my favourites. I think ‘Life On Mars?’ is one of the most musically complex ‘pop songs’ I’ve ever heard. There are over twenty separate chords, not including variations like dominant sevenths or whatever. My favourite period of Bowie was probably between about 1969 and 1974. He was an extraordinary talent, constantly finding new ways of doing things. He was the ultimate musical chameleon.

Alan Rickman had such a wonderfully lugubrious voice. It was just built for withering sarcasm, and Rickman characters were some of the most cynical and sarcastic I’ve ever seen. From Dogma to Galaxy Quest, whether he was an angel, an alien or something else between, he did sarcasm better than anyone. I’m too much of a Douglas Adams fan to enjoy all of the Hitchhikers movie, but the casting of Alan Rickman as Marvin was one of my favourite parts.

If you could tell them/ him anything what would it be?

I’d have told David Bowie not to give up on the guitar-based sound of Ziggy Stardust, but I don’t suppose he’d have listened to me. I’m sure his record company told him the same thing. He and Mick Ronson were a fantastic combination, though.

Are there any other stories you would have liked to include with this anthology?  If so,  where can purple find it?

No, but I’ve written four novels in The Cybermancer Chronicles, and they’re available here. This page also has links to the eBooks:

http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/Cybermancer

Anything you’d like to say to those who’s lives have been affected by cancer?

I really wish they didn’t have to go through it. I’ve seen what it’s done to my own family, Hopefully organisations like St Jude’s, which are researching the condition in its various forms, will be able to find new and better ways to treat, prevent and even cure cancer.

Would you like to tell us anything else?

I was one of the organisers of this project as well, focussed on getting the book ready, and I’d like to thank all of the other contributors, and all of those who helped out with the sort of things that usually get overlooked, like typesetters. beta readers and marketing folk, because this was a real team effort, and I’m glad there was such a great team.

Find Andrew below on Facebook.

Facebook

Get your copy of Stardust, Always.

Your Beloved Author,
Sandra Easter

 

Leave a Reply

