Characters in the Dark

I always wondered what happened to the characters in the books when I returned them so neatly to their shelves. I always dreamed about them long after reading their words. Soon it became too much. It invaded my every thought.  Kept me from writing, sleeping,  reading.  I just had to know.  I set a book open on my desk one night and placed a night camera before it.
This is what I saw:
At first there was only silence. A stillness that only comes in the night.  That was until midnight came and the words began to shift.  Just a few at first.  Then as if an they were ants,  they all began to move on the pages. It was an awakening if I ever did see one.  I was so in awe my jaw wouldn’t close.
As if that weren’t enough,  voices began lifting into the air in a caphony of sounds and words. Voices I could only imagine until now. 
The most amazing thing happened next. Words began to form my beloved characters.  They conversed,  fought and loved before my very eyes.
The magic tragically only lasted an hour. They melted back into the words I loved and settled on the page awaiting my eager eyes again.

Your Beloved Author,
Sandra Easter

Leave a Reply

