Day 2- Erotica Authors: A.J. Downey (Book 2)

A.J. Downey
A.J. Downey

A.J. Downey is a NaNoWriMo participant/Author. She is a born and raised Seattle, WA Native. She finds inspiration from her surroundings, through  the people she meets and likely as a byproduct of way too much caffeine. She has lived many places and done many things, though mostly through her own imagination. An avid reader all of her life it’s now her turn to try and give back a little, entertaining as she has been entertained. She lives in a small house in a small neighborhood with a larger than life fiancé and one cat.  A lively personality that transfers to her books.

She has six books I am featuring over the next few days. Today we begin with the second (Find the first here: https://wordpress.com/post/77522501/326/ ) Keep watch for her last book (1/2 the proceeds of all the pre-orders and the first month’s royalties will go to an abused children charity).

Click the Title of the book for the link to Amazon.com. Check out her book for yourself. Just check out that gorgeous cover (you know you judge books by the cover, don’t deny it). If you have Kindle Unlimited read it for free. Don’t forget to leave a review- we authors love to hear what you think. 🙂

Book 2:Broken and Burned

Broken and Burned:

Video Link

Synopsis:

He’s Broken… 

Dray, Vice President of the Sacred Hearts MC, watched his mother die in a bloody hail of bullets at the tender age of sixteen. It broke something inside of him and he’s been pretty much pissed off at the world ever since. Worse, he’s done things since that time that have just broken down his soul even further… Dray doesn’t want to be that guy anymore. Then came Everett Moran… 

She’s Been Burned… 

Evy is having one of the worst days in the history of, well… ever, and she’s seen A LOT of rough days. Raised an only child of a single father, Everett finds herself an orphan before she’s even old enough to drink. She knows a thing or two about loss and thanks to her boyfriend, she’s had more than a few lessons in hardship too. Still, she moves through life with a single minded determination to make her circumstances better… She harbors no illusions about life being anything other than what it is, so how in the HELL could she have been so blind as to what her boyfriend Jerry was doing!?  

Could the worst day of Everett’s life actually turn out to be the best thing to ever happen to her when she pulls into Dray’s garage? Could Everett’s arrival on Dray’s doorstep herald a new beginning for Dray, and heal some of his broken?

Excerpt:

“Who the fuck are you?” he demanded and Everett whirled. Her face was a study in raw naked pain. Tears slid from her too-wide steel blue eyes and she looked like she was ready to fly apart any second. Water dripped from the end of her not quite blonde, not quite brown, braid and tendrils of it stuck to her face and clung to the side of her neck. She was shivering but I couldn’t tell you if it was from shock, the cold, anger or a combination of all three. Our eyes met and I felt my lips thin. Her mouth hung open slightly in surprise and then she closed it and her eyes. Her shoulders dropped slightly in defeat and when her lips parted again it was to say,

“He’s Dray,” her voice was hollow, empty… 

He’s Dray. 

Not, ‘he’s the mechanic’, or ‘he’s nobody’ or ‘just the guy that gave me a ride home when your punk ass wouldn’t answer the phone’… I don’t know why, but her acknowledgment of my name gave her a few points in my book.

My eyes cut back over to her boyfriend and my lip curled in derision. His dark brown hair was sticking up at every angle and he was shirtless and barefoot, the button on his jeans undone. His narrow chest spoke of a lack of time spent at the gym and in a split second I had his measure.

“You mind? My bitch of a girlfriend and I are trying to have it out over here,” he said and I felt my lips curl into an unfriendly smile. I put some heat and purpose into my gaze.

“Go ahead. Call her a bitch in front of me again. See what happens,” I voiced tonelessly and I swear the fucker flinched. I was a scary man when I wanted to be. I was shit-your-pants terrifying when I needed to be. I settled somewhere in between for this particular ass clown.

“Dray I’m so sorry you had to see this… What… What can I do for you?” Everett asked, voice barely above a whisper.

“You forgot your calculator, fell out of your bag.” I held it out to her and captured her eyes with my own. They widened, again, too much white around those baby blues for my tastes.

“You want to stay here with this ass clown?” I asked her softly and he choked incredulously and started spouting off. I ignored him and kept her eyes pinned with mine. I could see it all over her face. She was a hurtin’ unit and she didn’t want to stay.

“Are you fucking kidding me Everett!?” he yelled at her when she’d been silent too long.

“Do you even know this guy!?” he railed at her and that snapped her out of our silent exchange. She jerked as if she’d been slapped and turned on him slowly.

“Up until I walked in here and saw that hooker riding your cock on my couch I thought I knew you. Turns out I didn’t know a god damned thing!” Her voice was level and low and I smirked at the ass clown. I felt a little thrill of pride at her words.

“Everett,” I said and she turned back to me.

“Go pack your shit. I’ll take you out of here.” I crossed my arms and leaned a shoulder against the door frame and nodded at her to go do what needed doing.

“This is fucking unbelievable,” the douche-du-jour uttered and I hit him with another scary look.

“I’d G-T-F-O if I were you. At least until she’s done,” I said. Everett hadn’t moved yet, he was standing between her and their bedroom. Place was a fucking one bedroom. He crossed his arms and looked smug.

“You’re going to have to come back sometime,” he told her. I took a step into their space and watched as she raised her eyes to meet his, a look of steely determination crossed her face.

“Did you fuck her in our bed?” she asked him and his nasty smile was pretty much all the answer she needed.

“When I get back you need to have your shit out of here,” she said, voice cold.

“Uh you’re forgetting something Baby. My name’s the one on the lease.” He crossed his arms over his narrow chest and had the balls to look smug.

“You’re forgetting something too… I was the one paying the majority of the rent and bills.” She made to go past him and he caught her by the upper arm. She recoiled and I took a step forward. His eyes cut to me and he let her go. She passed him by and I heard her rummaging through her closet and drawers. I saw her fling a suitcase open on their rumpled bed and she started stuffing things into it, a laptop, a photo album, some yearbooks… I sighed. This was going to take a minute…

Review: (4 1/2 star Average)

5.0 out of 5 stars Great second book to this series!,December 22, 2014 By Book Fancy

This review is from: Broken & Burned: The Sacred Hearts MC (Kindle Edition)
I must say, this is fast becoming one of my favorite series! I love all the Scared Heart MC men! They have a real brotherhood and are always there for each other. I like the fact that even though each book focuses on a different couple, there is still lots of interaction with the other characters. Once again, A.J. did not disappoint and delivered a story that I was sucked into from page one. I completely devoured this book and ended it with a smile on my face.
Broken & Burned is the second book in this series, and I definitely recommend you reading Shattered & Scarred first so that you can get a feel for the characters. Well that and it’s just an all-around great book that you don’t want to miss out on! Broken & Burned is Dray’s story. Dray is the V.P. of the Sacred Hearts MC. And he is oh so yummy! He’s one of the younger members of the club at only 22, and he watched his mother murdered at the young age of 16. He’s had a chip of his shoulder ever since and has a broken soul. Everett is having the worst day of her life and meets Dray when she takes her car into his shop to be repaired. She too has suffered loss. Dray steps in to care for Everett when she literally has no one. He never expected to be taking in a stray, but there is just something about Everett that calls to him.
Can Everett break down Dray’s walls and help heal his wounded soul? Will danger be lurking just around the corner? Are Everett and Dray what each other needs? Is it possible to find true love when not even looking?
I most definitely recommend this book and series! I promise you won’t be disappointed! I can’t wait to dive into the next story in this series! Job well done by A.J. Downey.
2 thoughts on “Day 2- Erotica Authors: A.J. Downey (Book 2)

Leave a Reply

