Abuse

At thirteen you betrayed my trust
At fourteen you took my self esteem
At fifteen you wounded my pride
At sixteen you turned me against men
At seventeen you took my first love
At eighteen I ran away
At nineteen I proved myself
At twenty I forgave you
At twenty-one you made me a liar
At twenty-three I found love
At twenty-four you continue to haunt me
At twenty-five I broke free
I find happiness, my self-esteem, my strong will to live
Without your shadow darkening my world
For all the pain you caused me
I will use it
For all the trust you lost
I found somewhere to put it
For all the lies
I’ll write the truth
And fear not your wrath
For I am strong
And beyond your reach.

Your Beloved Author,
Sandra Easter

Leave a Reply

