Fields of Desolation

Dry stale air filling my lungs

Suffocating my existence

The gravity of despair

Pulling at my every step

Toward my unknown destination

I cannot find my true colors

The color seems to have faded long ago

They have turned to shades of black and gray

No hint of what was there before

I cannot seem to find the desire

To pull myself back the way I came

Knowing that happiness

Is now far behind me

And desolation waits

In the long days ahead

No view of any promise before me

No hope of happiness anywhere

While I stagger over the uneven ground

Nearly tripping at each elevation

I begin to see the end ahead of me

Preparing myself for the worst

And thankful I endure it ALONE!

Leave a Reply

